What the Law States

Contact Us or call 1-877-932-8228
What the Law States

What the Law States

Federal Laws

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964

Title VII prohibits employment discrimination based on:

  1. Race.
  2. Color.
  3. Age.
  4. Religion.
  5. Sex.
  6. National origin.

Title VII applies to employers with 15 or more employees, although employees working for smaller companies are usually protected by state antidiscrimination laws similar to Title VII.

State Laws

Most states have harassment laws in addition to the federal laws. Federal law takes precedence unless the state's law offers more protection to the employees.

Federal law keeps employees safe, but some states wanted to enforce stronger laws and put stronger harassment laws in place. Those states are: Alabama, Alaska, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.