The following walk-through will show you how to use the Check Out feature to lock a document so that you can edit it safely without anyone else being able to modify the document while you have it checked out.
You can also use the Files tab toolbar in a library to check out an item. It is also possible through the library settings to require documents to be checked out when they are opened by a user for editing.
Note the option to Use my local drafts folder. If you select that option, a copy of the file will be downloaded locally to your machine, which would make it available for you to edit offline. Office integration and other ways to work offline are covered later in this course.
The Discard Check Out option will remove the checked-out setting from the document but you will also lose any changes that where made since the document was checked out.
You can also use the Files tab toolbar in a library to check in an item.
The following walk-through will show you how to delete a document from the My Docs library and restore it from the Recycle Bin.
There is an optional second stage recycle bin where the Site Collection Administrator can recover items that have be removed from the main recycle bin.
Versioning can be optionally configured in SharePoint so that backup copies of any library list item are automatically created when new changes are applied. This provides the ability for users and administrators to revert to previous versions of items. With libraries you have the additional option of requiring that documents be checked out before they can be edited. This will make sure that when a user is editing a document no one else can edit the same document while it is checked out and potentially overwrite changes.
The following walk-through will show you how to turn versioning on and require documents to be checked out in the My Docs document library and test the results.
The Check Out button provided by Word was a result of the libraries' require check-out setting.
Since both major and minor version was enabled, the menu option Publish a Major Version is available. Clicking the Save icon in Word defaults to saving as a minor version. Users with Visitor permissions would only be able to see published major versions.